The Botswana International University of Science and Technology Student Representative Council here in known as BIUST-SRC was constituted by part XIII of the BIUST statues which is also part of section 21 of the BIUST ACT.

The SRC was mandated by the university statute under part XIII subsection 67 to write its constitution that shall be aligned with the university statutes which shall be approved by council. The BIUST SRC constitutions preamble which states “We, the students of Botswana International University of Science and Technology(BIUST), are an important part of the University community, and are therefore entitled to an active role in deciding its policies and priorities. 

Read More

Our Committees

The BIUST SRC has put in place committees in order to deliver on its mandate.

Eight portfolios of the thirteen (13) have committees which report to their respective ministers. The remaining five portfolios which are the Presidency, Vice-presidency, Secretary General, Treasurer and Administrative Secretary are domiciled in the Office of the President.

Former SRC Presidents and others chosen by the incumbent President constitute the Office of the President. This crop of student leadership is mandated with addressing student needs and ensuring continuity of the work of previous SRCs. The Office of the President reports to the SRC.

The BIUST SRC also has a campus committee that reports to ministers.

Each class has a class representative who reports to the level representative. The latter reports to a faculty representative who reports to the SRC.


The BIUST SRC has 13 portfolios;

  • Presidency
  • Vice-Presidency
  • Secretary General
  • Treasurer
  • Administrative Secretary
  • Publicity and Communications
  • Student Welfare and Advocacy
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Health and Safety
  • International Affairs
  • Entertainment and Culture
  • Community Outreach
  • Academic Affairs